GIVING THANKS

Posted: 7 de Novembro de 2010 in Festivities

Thanksgiving Day is the fourth Thursday in November. It is a federal holiday, so schools, banks, post offices, and government offices are closed. Thanksgiving was the first holiday celebrated in America. It was first celebrated in the autumn of 1621 when the Wampanoag Indians and the pilgrims got together for a three-day feast and festival of fun.

Today, families celebrate Thanksgiving by eating turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy, yams, corn, cranberry sauce, and pumpkin pie. In 2010, Thanksgiving will be on Thursday, November 25.

Pilgrims

What is Thanksgiving?

  • It is a federal holiday that is celebrated on the fourth Thursday in November. 
  • The first Thanksgiving was in 1621 when the pilgrims invited the Indians to a three-day feast to celebrate the autumn harvest.

 

Mayflower Ship

Who were the pilgrims?

  • The pilgrims were a small group of people who sailed to North America in order to start a new life. They sailed on the Mayflower ship and landed on Plymouth Rock. 

WHAT WOULD YOU LIKE TO GIVE THANKS FOR?

Comentários
  1. patricia nº3 8h diz:

    This party is very amusing; it can not be compared with the portuguese ones.

  2. Bia nº14 8ºB diz:

    Hi! I would like to give thanks for my family and my friends because they always help me when I need and I love them very much…

  3. JF 8ºB nº7 diz:

    I would like to give thanks for my family and my friends, because they are a very special part of my life and they help me when i need!

  4. Ana i. diz:

    I would like to give thanks for my family and my friends because they are fantastic and I would like to give thanks for everything good I have.

  5. João André 8ºB diz:

    I would like to give thanks for having something to eat every day, good parents and the opportunity to study because many people didn’t have that opportunity in the past and nowadays many children still have to work from a very early age.

  6. Tatiana n20 T: 8b diz:

    I would like to give thanks for my family and friends and I woul like to give thanks for being healthy .

  7. catarina nª6 8ºb diz:

    I would like to give thanks for my family, friends and my teachers because help me when I need!

  8. Alexandra Ray 8ºB diz:

    I would like to give thanks for having such good friends because they always help me with everything!

  9. simão nº19 8ºB diz:

    Hi! I would like to give thanks for my family and friends, for having a new school and books to study

  10. ana3 8ºB diz:

    I would like to give thanks for being healthy and having food to eat and books to study.

  11. N.A. 8ºB diz:

    I would like to give thanks for being with my family and my friends, we are healthy and we aren’t starving like other children.

Deixe um comentário